Looking for a Home

Dan and I have recently started looking to buy a house and we are very conflicted about it.

On one hand, we really love where we live.  We live in a two bedroom apartment in Astoria, across the street from Dan’s grandparents, and have a very sweet deal.

We know that we want to live in either Queens or Long island and have started to focus in on certain towns.

I however don’t know if I am ready to leave Astoria. 

I am conflicted about moving to a house that we will have to pay a lot more per month for our mortgage.  I am conflicted about moving farther away from the city.  I am conflicted about whether we will be moving into the right town!

How will we know what house we want to buy? How do we know what the right neighborhood is? It is really very tough.

Port Washington is my favorite.  It is a gorgeous town.  Today we looked at a house, which was very nice.  The main issue was that it only had one bathroom! Granted, the bathroom was very large, but I think that a family need more than one toilet!!! I can think of many instances where Dan and I had to go to the bathroom at the same time.  What happens when you add one or two kids into the mix?

Dan is more into north flushing, in Queens, because he is obsessed with the like 22 minute commute to get into the city.  The houses are beautiful, but there is definitely much less of a town than Port Washington. 

What do you recommend?

Leave a Reply

